Track On Days

At a year round school, we have more breaks than a traditional track. That means there are more times where my students come back to school bursting with news and excitement. Contrary to popular opinion which dictates they’d be sad to abandon their vacations to return to the rigors of school, most students greet me with exuberant hugs, grins and, today, apples & hand-painted birdhouses & photos & drawings.

It is days like this where the kids are so thrilled to be with me & so excited to share their lives with me that I remember why I chose teaching as my career.

However, I couldn’t sleep last night (my schedule is way off) and, after less than two hours sleep, I’m ready to collapse. The shininess of the day is tarnished by extreme fatigue.

Leave a Reply

