“I’m bored.”

“I’m bored.” These are words I dread – personally & professionally.

Professionally, I detest hearing students say they are bored. With a plethora of extra activities to do in our classroom (extra math, art projects, reading books, dittoed pages, challenge math, etc.), I see “I’m bored” as an excuse to be lazy about picking a subsequent assignment. Additionally, I very, very rarely don’t have one or more of those suggestions highlighted on the board as something to pick when the work is completed.

Personally, I am so busy that I don’t often get to do the relaxing & unwinding that is taken for granted (both by others & by me when I’m off track and have lots of time!), so I usually pick reading or catching up on movies / TV or DVD or emailing or playing my computer game or calling someone with whom I haven’t spoken in awhile, etc. When my friends tell me they’re bored, I assume they want me to think of something for them to do, and frankly, that makes me feel resentful. Why is your entertainment my responsibility?

I guess that being bored is something that rarely happens to me because a) I always load too much on my plate, and b) I have a long list of things I’d like to learn how to do. That sounds sanctimonious, and I don’t intend it to be so, but discover some hobbies or be proactive about your own education / entertainment / leisure time, etc.

I have a terrible habit of trying to solve people’s problems for them & this particular lament irks me to no end. Grr.

Leave a Reply

