Envy

It seems as though we always want what someone else has. Is that a cultural cue? I’ve known people raised in different countries who have the same urges, so I don’t know if I can attribute it to humankind or another American idiosyncrasy (hoping the former, fearing the latter).

Be happy. I read a book recently (The Geography of Bliss) that dealt with happiness. One of the author’s tenets was that envy is the enemy of happiness, and I agree. I know that coveting my neighbor’s anything is going to lead me into a place of jealousy that I don’t particularly want to visit. Regardless, I have trouble focusing on my blessings without taking those tiny sideways glances at what everyone else has. I know I’m not alone here, but I still struggle with keeping my eyes on the rightness in my life and off other people.

For example, I have an amazing vacation schedule. Truly, I am off work for a significant portion of the year (when all is said and done, literally a third of the year). Indeed, I’ve only been back for two weeks (was off for four weeks in March). However, traditional schools are off for this week, and I keep catching myself daydreaming about what I’d do if I had this week off. It’s a trap, it is.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by laura c. on April 13, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    i am jealous of your legs. 😦

    (i am not a very good internet commenter; i can only ever think of silly comments to make.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

