Baking Spree

I have been baking up a whirlwind recently! I have always loved to bake, but I have become increasingly lazy recently, especially because I am lucky enough to be married to a man who really enjoys cooking (I usually just leave him to it). However, I’ve found myself reading baking blogs for the last while & particularly inspired recently – enough to try a few new recipes. Both my Friday & Saturday recipes were from the Smitten Kitchen website.

Saturday was Earth Day & a trip to a local park with my best friend to view the festivities. She is one who is always appreciative of people cooking for her, so I decided to try scones (for the first time in my life, amazingly) as a treat for her. They turned out particularly well, much thanks to this very simple recipe.

Berry Scones

My small tweaks to this recipe were that it can all be accomplished well without the use of a food processor (I’m lazy about cleaning equipment & use my hands instead), more fruit would not have hurt it (or maybe I’m just fruity – also, I used a variety of dried fruit – cherries, cranberries, raspberries, etc. – and enjoyed the results) & a large glass would accomplish the same effect as a biscuit cutter if you don’t have one on hand.

I cannot rave enough about how light and moist these turned out! They had all the dense goodness of scones but without any of the dry flakiness that turns me off. Note: I kept them covered & they were delicious the next day as well. He ate the rest, so I cannot speak to how they’d hold up past that though.

Leave a Reply

