Apparently, We Didn’t Cover Economics

A student walked up to me today & told me of his plans to make a profitable summer-time drink stand. He wanted to save up for a new video game. Encouraged, I asked him if he would be selling lemonade. Sagely, he informed me that the costs of lemons & sugar were prohibitive & to maximize his net gain (my phrasing, admittedly, not his), he’d be selling ice cold water. I saw the logic & was enthused. To support his entrepreneurial advances, I asked him how much he’d be charging per glass. He smiled broadly & replied, “Nothing!”

Apparently, I need to teach economics.

Leave a Reply

