Malaise

I am leery of seeing a doctor to explain these odd conditions (no, I’m not pregnant!), but I seriously don’t know what to do. Here’s what’s been going on:

  • For weeks, I’ve been tired. During the week, I get 6.5 – 8 hours of sleep each night (I know I should be at 8-9, but it’s just impossible a lot of the time), but I catch up on the weekends (usually 10-12 each night). However, I am ALWAYS tired. For example, I slept from 10pm-9:30am on Friday night & 2:30am (don’t ask) – 9:30am on Saturday night, then fell asleep on Sunday night at 9pm, slept until 6am, and was still tired. In three nights, that’s 27.5 hours of sleep (well at the correct 24 – 27 hours I should be getting), but I was still exhausted this morning. Exhausted like could barely get out of bed, tired.
  • The little things have been grating on me extra hard recently. I’ve been out of sorts with people, easily annoyed, and feeling overburdened.
  • Food hasn’t been tasting very good to me. I’ve been eating regularly, but nothing seems to spark my fancy. Food I previously enjoyed now tastes just passable & everything is unexciting.
  • I haven’t felt happy. I almost always feel happy. I don’t feel sad exactly, just not happy.

It’s been a few weeks now, and I just assumed it’d get better (maybe it was allergies or catching up on sleep or a touch of the flu), but it hasn’t. I’m having difficulty juggling the different parts of my life when I can barely make myself get out of bed & do my work. What’s going on!?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lauracope on May 11, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    some of my best feel-better days were ones we spent together wandering around, like that day in sacramento (EONS ago) and that day in san francisco (earlier this year) or even at that pottery place you took me for my birthday. a change of scenery is always nice — so long as the time spent traveling there and back minimal and stressless, of course. 😉 maybe we could wander around in napa soon.

    i also feel better and more alive after working on something creative and/or being totally dorky — bonus points if the two happen simultaneously. you could choreograph a dance to one of our favorite songs, and we could record it on video. maybe we could make our own Literal Video. yeah, these are dorky suggestions that probably make me sound like a nut, but again, this is usually what perks me up; your mileage may vary, etc. haha 🙂

    xoxoxoxoxoxo

    Reply

  2. Posted by lauracope on May 11, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    there’s supposed to be an “is” up there, but oh well. i ought to proofread before hitting Submit!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ellen on May 12, 2009 at 7:24 am

    All of those ideas sound lovely, but a) I don’t seem to have any spare time, and b) I am seriously wondering if something is medically wrong with me (slept 9 hours last night – still bags under eyes & tired)… Ergh.

    Mr. I Never Have Days Off unexpectedly has next Thursday & Friday & Saturday off (plus Monday, a holiday), and I am considering taking a couple of days off too, just to recharge. We’re done with testing this week, so my attendance is less of an issue. We’ll see…

    I just hate not feeling up to par, you know?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

