Wait! What about Spring?!

It’s 107 here! The guy is about to throw a fit as he’ll be delivering mail in this tiny heat wave (over by Tuesday, apparently). My best friend adores the heat & is in Palo Alto. My husband detests it & is right here. Sometimes the world isn’t fair.

It’s a long story, but he actually has Thursday – Monday off this week / weekend. I am Very Tempted to do up some substitute plans & take the last two days of the week off. I have lots of vacation time… I don’t know if I am convincing myself or UNconvincing myself. Let’s make a list!

Reasons to Go to Work

  • It’s my job.
  • I’d miss my kiddos.
  • We’re running groups on Thursday morning, and it’d be a pain to get my group ready for someone else to lead it.

Reasons to Take the Day(s) Off

  • We would have FIVE days off together (Monday is Memorial Day)!
  • We could go to the farmer’s market on Thursday (I never go during the week!).
  • We could spend an entire day in bed watching TV on DVD and ordering pizza and just being together.
  • We’d still have plenty of time to clean out the green room so we’d be able to sleep in there (as it is currently largely used for storage).
  • I’ve been feeling blah for a bit (see: previous journal entries) & this could eradicate the lingering traces of blahness (they’re mostly gone, so that’s just an excuse, but it seems like a good one!).
  • We’ve finished our state testing, so the pressure is off at school.
  • I could leisurely try some of the recipes I’ve been meaning to get around to making.

Hm. Maybe one day…?!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by ALisa on May 18, 2009 at 8:54 am

    I just wrote out my reply. And I didnt include my email. I hate that!

    Anyways. I was tempting you into taking the 2 days off. I think you should do it! You dont do it all that often I’m sure. And pizza and laying in bed all days helps lighten peoples moods. Its clinically proven! 😉

    Also, how often do you guys have the same days off? You could have a lot of fun, and I’m sure you would both enjoy it 🙂
    It might be a pain for the group, but it would be worth it I think ❤

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ellen on May 18, 2009 at 10:17 am

    I would’ve known who “Alisa” was. Side note: I am putting a little something in the mail for you today!

    You’re right too – we don’t often have more than Sundays off together (once every six weeks he has a weekend off – this one – and very rarely does that weekend coincide with a holiday). I think I will take advantage… for at least one of the days! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by ALisa on May 18, 2009 at 10:51 am

    No doubt about that, but it wouldnt allow my comment without my email :\
    Aww, I’m excited! I’m almost finished a letter for you actually. Nick’s contributing aswell. So it’ll be out in the mail this week. I’m hoping for Tuesday or Wednesday sometime.

    See? Its totally worth it! Psst. You should take both days. Nick also agrees with this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

