S’mores Truffles

My previous entry is too depressing to leave as my only thought for today, so I’ll post about my bastardization of Bakerella‘s Oreo Truffles (about which I posted here). Someone had idly mentioned using graham crackers in the comments on her original post, so I decided to experiment.

I went ahead and combined one package of pulverized graham crackers (not a box but the individually wrapped package) with about half a jar of marshmallow creme. The creme was ridiculously sticky to work with, and I ended up just using my hands to play around with it. I found the best way to do it was to grab a little creme, stick it in the graham cracker substance and just start working them into balls. Don’t worry about freezing them. They are VERY sturdy.

I actually found some dipping chocolate in its own microwaveable container, which was fantastic. It simplified the dipping process by a LOT and turned out much more evenly coated truffles. Additionally, I had an easier time avoiding the “feet” that truffles are wont to acquire.

S'mores Truffles

The truffles I made looked pretty (dusted with graham cracker powder & cinnamon), but they were very dense. I had to keep them unrefrigerated because I almost broke a tooth trying to bite into them when they were cold. I really enjoyed them, but the guy thought they were too chewy and liked the softer consistency of the Oreo Truffles. I think that, next time I try them, I will put a mini marshmallow in the center and surround it with the graham cracker mix. That way they’ll still have the distinctive s’mores taste but be a little less dense. Overall, successful, but continue to modify!

Leave a Reply

