A Letter to the Sun

Dear Sun,

Let me start off by apologizing for the love-hate relationship we’ve had. I know that you know that I’m not fond of the heat, but it’s nothing personal. I swear! I dolike it when it’s sunny outside, I can go bike riding, and the days are ripe for BBQs. See? It’s not you, it’s me!

Now, I’ve put up with the freckles. I’ve even grown fond of them, truly. I grasp that my ultra-fair skin puts a barrier between us, and I’m sorry about that. However, we need to work something out. You see, I teach elementary school, and I just must go outside every once in awhile. Sun, I’m not even talking PE (although you did hurt my feelings when I got sunburned [again] after being out for 20 minutes). I just mean that I literally have to venture outside to retrieve my students after lunch & to walk them across the campus to the computer lab, etc.

Let me tell you what I do for you. I walk in the shade whenever I can. I always put on lotion with sunscreen in it or a full sunscreen. Always! I’m talking every day here, Sun. I’m always thinking about you. So, could I get you to stop making my nose & neck & chest permanently red? It’s limiting my fashion choices here & truthfully, I worry about skin cancer. I’m doing my part. How about you meet me halfway? Let me know ASAP! It’s just getting warmer here…

Appreciatively yours,

Ellen

Leave a Reply

