I Am in Love!

I am notorious for my blase attitude toward cake. I will eat it if it’s there, but rarely does cake spark joy in my heart. However, Deb at Smitten Kitchen has again outdone herself. Her Raspberry Buttermilk Cake is divine! In fact, it’s so good that I’ve made it twice in less than a week (note: I haven’t baked more than two cakes in the last decade, probably).

Raspberry Buttermilk Cake

The first time I made it, we had it for dessert with vanilla bean ice cream. It was a delicious, light, summery treat with the light dusting of sugar and butter-crisped outside.

Raspberry-Strawberry Buttermilk Cake

The second time I made it was this morning for Sunday brunch with my mama (ignore the penguin plate) & I added in strawberries too, upping the berry:cake ratio, and it was amazing again.

If you don’t find yourself baking often, you might want to try this relatively simple cake. It is bursting with flavor & very easily translates from brunch to dessert. I took a slice for snack last Thursday too. Maybe I’ll turn out to enjoy cake after all.

Leave a Reply

