Comic Relief

I had another long day (at school until 8pm), but when I came home, I happened to look through a couple of links that I had meant to explore but hadn’t made time to peruse. One of them was “Garfield Minus Garfield.” The author (I am not sure if that’s the right term?) basically just takes the Garfield cartoon & erases Garfield from it. His vision of his site:

Garfield Minus Garfield is a site dedicated to removing Garfield from the Garfield comic strips in order to reveal the existential angst of a certain young Mr. Jon Arbuckle. It is a journey deep into the mind of an isolated young everyman as he fights a losing battle against loneliness and depression in a quiet American suburb.

I love it! I wasn’t particularly sold on the cartoon, honestly, but this reimaging of it resonates with me tonight (or I’m just tired). There are a few different types of strips once you remove Garfield.

#1 the bizarre

#2 the hopeful / romantic

#3 the disturbing / pathetic

Hopefully you enjoy Jon’s angst / manic life as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

